At the 22. November 2017 the CBBS organized a parliamentary evening on the occasion of its 10th anniversary at the Kaiser-Otto-Saal, Kulturhistorisches Museum Magdeburg.

The CBBS invited politicians from city council, state parliament, federal parliament and different ministries to discuss about the potential of neuroscience in Magdeburg and Saxony Anhalt.

After short welcome speeches from the president of the Landtag, Gabriele Brakebusch, and the minister of the ministry of economy, science and digitalisation, Prof. Dr. Armin Willingmann, short presentations were given by Prof. Dr.-Ing. Matthias Kleiner (president of the Leibniz Society), Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jens Strackeljan (rector OVGU) and Jun.-Prof. Dr. Michael Hanke (CBBS sub-project manager).

At the end, an inspiring debate about the role of the CBBS for Saxony Anhalt was guided by apl. Prof. Dr. Constanze Seidenbecher. Invited participants were Prof. Dr. Daniela Dieterich (CBBS member and director of the Institute of Pharmacology and Toxicology, OVGU), Prof. Dr. Reint Gropp (president IWH Halle), Prof. Dr. med Hans-Jochen Heinze (CBBS Spokesman and director of the Universityclinic for Neurology), Dr. Katja Pähle (member of the state parliament) and Dr. Jürgen Ude (undersecretary of the ministry of economy, science and digitalisation).

After the official part, more than 100 guests, including CBBS members and politicians, were celebrating the 10th anniversary of the CBBS.